TheBreax “Breax Over” Mixtape Review

Gallery Drive’s “Super Group of Tomorrow” was probably the best mixtape I’ve heard in a while, it might even be better than The Scribbling Idiots “Idiomatic Volume I”. TheBreax have been releasing remixes of mainstream rap songs every week for a couple months now. I was a little skeptical at first just because I hate mainstream rap but at the same time I know that TheBreax always come correct. The sad part for me was that I had trouble keeping up with the downloads every Wednesday, so I suggested to Ruslan of TheBreax to put it all together, he told me it had already been and that the mixtape was coming soon. Now here I am with the new mixtape “Breax Over”, the tape is free, so let’s talk about it.

I actually didn’t start listening to the remixes posted until I heard “Rock With You” featuring Scribbling Idiot and Humble Beast emcee Theory Hazit. It’s just a fun, original track that I vibed out to for a while. The single “Brilliant Relaness” is right after that featuring Sho Baraka and the music video for that track should be literally down below this review. My favorite track on the tape though is “Beginning Again” featuring Shaady G who placed an absolutely soulful hook. I think this song is mostly about the lives that TheBreax lead now that they’re living a life with Christ.

A couple tracks, mixes and medleys later we are blessed with “Money Need Me”. It’s your “money isn’t everything track”. The vibe I got from the album was this was a fun project to make and listen to. I’m not saying that the mixtape lacked substance, but I felt that with the Gallery Drive mixtape had a good mix of personal and group posse cuts. This mixtape has more of the posse cut vibe to it with a few personal and thought-provoking tracks.

“Not of This World” is one of those thought-provoking introspective tracks, it’s actually my favorite one on here (next to the remix of “Whip My Hair”). As Christians we are seen as kind of weird “Not of This World” if you will but we’re made in God’s image which means we can embrace it with pride.

The mixtape wasn’t the best but I think it’s a solid project that should almost hold you up until the next Breax release. The whole horns blowing and Ruslan talking throughout the middle of some of the songs was kind of annoying. On the flip side I kinda like how DJ Wade-O cut up some of the songs. The mixtape is perfect for people like me who aren’t big fans of the mainstream lyrics but kind of like mainstream beats. If you’re like me this project is for you, and you know what it’s for everyone who likes free freaking music. So download it NOW!!!

Rating: 4/5 (Solid Release to Hold You Over)

~ by BigSto on February 1, 2011.

One Response to “TheBreax “Breax Over” Mixtape Review”

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Michael Stover, Michael Stover. Michael Stover said: @theBREAX @MicBoftheBREAX @Beleaf_theBREAX your review my good sirs http://bit.ly/erSh1H [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

