I Read The Summer Articles of Sojourn (Sojournalism Review)

Now if you’ve paid attention for the last couple of years we haven’t seen a release from the Hip Hop Is Music record label run by Braille of Lightheaded. And people that know about the label also know the label has yet to release an album that was anything short of great. If you go through my blog you learn that the releases that have come from Hip Hop Is Music haven’t received a rating lower than a 4 (which is good by the way). So what ever happened to the label…actually I have no idea, but I do know that they’re back with the perfect release to jump start the label again.
Sojourn of Future Shock is not even close to new on the hip hop scene, he’s done work with the Tunnel Rats and made guest appearances on numerous tracks (TheBreax, Dokument, Cas Metah, JustMe, Solseekers and others). So finally Sojourn has released his first solo album entitled Sojournalism: The Summer Chronicles under the Hip Hop Is Music record label. Now if you guys remember I put this album on a list of albums I was strongly looking forward to this year, so when I got this in my inbox I was instantly psyched.
I took a look at the track listing before I listened to the album and saw that a bunch of people put hard work into this album both guests and producers. Sojourn handled some the production with other production from Ruslan of TheBreax, Theory Hazit, Dert and others.
The first very notable track on the album is “Human Resources” featuring Big Rec of Mass Reality. I was psyched for two reasons first the fact that Big Rec was on track because I really haven’t seen too much of him lately and second it was Sojourn on the beatbox…that’s right THE BEATBOX!!! It’s probably my favorite track on the album because of the vintage sound and brought me back to the good old days of hip hop, two people a beat boxer and the emcee ripping up tracks like there’s no tomorrow.
A couple tracks later is “Cause and Effect” which is where Sojourn tells a story of how one time when Future Shock was on stage, a crew of emcees jumped and tried to battle Future Shock and from the way the story was told I wish I would’ve been there myself so I could see Future Shock destroy the crew of emcees that wanted to battle for the name Future Shock.
“Civil War” was one of my favorite tracks lyrically on the album, probably because Sojourn made it so easily to relate to what he was speaking on. The track covers on how hard it is to be a follower of God in a world surrounded by evil. The hook says it all “there’s a war going on inside” and it’s true inside of all of us we battle everyday with the human in us and the Holy Spirit in us. That song truly hit home reminded me of Braille’s “Broken Heart” off the S1 Cloud Nineteen project, an amazing beat with lyrics that can’t help but make you feel like the people making this music go through the same things that we do.
One thing I like about this album is the variety of beats and lyrics on this album. You have the posse cuts, songs of heartfelt lyrics and bangers filled with battle raps and that’s where the track “10,000” comes in. A track that features Hip Hop Is Music artists Braille and Theory Hazit with production from The Strange Fruit Project’s S1 fresh of his release with Braille Cloud Nineteen. All three emcees take the beat by the neck and strangle it, each emcee killing their verse. This was definitely a song I pressed the repeat button on, in fact when I first got the album it was the second track I listened to (with Human Resources being first).
“The Road Less Traveled” is another favorite track of mine which features Sojourn’s Future Shock Crew and an emcee named BlameOne. This is also another amazing track lyrically and it helped me to realize something that’s kind of a downer. The road we as Christians travel is a road less travel and one that is very difficult. The hook to this song says it all:
“The path we walk, some couldn’t handle
On this road less traveled
It’s a place where dreams get trampled
On this road less traveled
Keep it moving cuz time don’t stand still
On this road less traveled”
In bits and pieces of this verse you can sense the pain and frustration that the crew goes through on this road less traveled. Sojourn made the beat himself and I love it, because it’s dark and has the piano which combines perfectly with the dark lyrics.
Sojourn has been around for a long time and I’ve grown to love every track that he’s on, which could the reason why I over hyped this release for myself. On my first listen I was somewhat disappointed, but I ended listening to the album 6 times over and over again I grew to realize the album is great on both a lyrical and production standpoint. The Hip Hop Is Music label succeeds once again in releasing a talented album from a talented emcee. Fans of Sojourn will love this album and the variety of styles just take the album to another level. Pick it up, now if only we could get Future Shock to release another album….and what about Big Rec?
The Good
HUMAN RESOURCES feat. BIGREC
The variety of sounds and lyrics on the album
Sojourn’s ability to hit home with his lyrics
Production from everywhere Theory, Dert, Ruslan, and Sojay himself
The Bad
For some reason I’m having a problem understanding the topic of Art Verses Commerce….I love the beat though
Some the tracks were just good (Solutionists, Fool’s Gold, Say Something) they were missing the umph that was in the rest of the songs
I probably never see a Human Resources album with just Sojay on beatbox and Rec on the lyrics
Rating: 4/5 (Great, Go Get It)
*- Like I said I over hyped this for myself so I’d actually give it like a 4-4.5
If You Can’t Buy The Album Download These Songs
Human Resources feat. Big Rec
10,000 feat. Theory Hazit and Braille produced by S1
A Road Less Traveled feat. Future Shock and BlameOne
The Craving produced by Dert
Civil War produced by Theory Hazit

Buy Album

Now if you’ve paid attention for the last couple of years we haven’t seen a release from the Hip Hop Is Music record label run by Braille of Lightheaded. And people that know about the label also know the label has yet to release an album that was anything short of great. If you go through my blog you learn that the releases that have come from Hip Hop Is Music haven’t received a rating lower than a 4 (which is good by the way). So what ever happened to the label…actually I have no idea, but I do know that they’re back with the perfect release to jump start the label again.

Sojourn of Future Shock is not even close to new on the hip hop scene, he’s done work with the Tunnel Rats and made guest appearances on numerous tracks (TheBreax, Dokument, Cas Metah, JustMe, Solseekers and others). So finally Sojourn has released his first solo album entitled Sojournalism: The Summer Chronicles under the Hip Hop Is Music record label. Now if you guys remember I put this album on a list of albums I was strongly looking forward to this year, so when I got this in my inbox I was instantly psyched.

I took a look at the track listing before I listened to the album and saw that a bunch of people put hard work into this album both guests and producers. Sojourn handled some the production with other production from Ruslan of TheBreax, Theory Hazit, Dert and others.

The first very notable track on the album is “Human Resources” featuring Big Rec of Mass Reality. I was psyched for two reasons first the fact that Big Rec was on track because I really haven’t seen too much of him lately and second it was Sojourn on the beatbox…that’s right THE BEATBOX!!! It’s probably my favorite track on the album because of the vintage sound and brought me back to the good old days of hip hop, two people a beat boxer and the emcee ripping up tracks like there’s no tomorrow.

A couple tracks later is “Cause and Effect” which is where Sojourn tells a story of how one time when Future Shock was on stage, a crew of emcees jumped and tried to battle Future Shock and from the way the story was told I wish I would’ve been there myself so I could see Future Shock destroy the crew of emcees that wanted to battle for the name Future Shock.

“Civil War” was one of my favorite tracks lyrically on the album, probably because Sojourn made it so easily to relate to what he was speaking on. The track covers on how hard it is to be a follower of God in a world surrounded by evil. The hook says it all “there’s a war going on inside” and it’s true inside of all of us we battle everyday with the human in us and the Holy Spirit in us. That song truly hit home reminded me of Braille’s “Broken Heart” off the S1 Cloud Nineteen project, an amazing beat with lyrics that can’t help but make you feel like the people making this music go through the same things that we do.

One thing I like about this album is the variety of beats and lyrics on this album. You have the posse cuts, songs of heartfelt lyrics and bangers filled with battle raps and that’s where the track “10,000” comes in. A track that features Hip Hop Is Music artists Braille and Theory Hazit with production from The Strange Fruit Project’s S1 fresh of his release with Braille Cloud Nineteen. All three emcees take the beat by the neck and strangle it, each emcee killing their verse. This was definitely a song I pressed the repeat button on, in fact when I first got the album it was the second track I listened to (with Human Resources being first).

“The Road Less Traveled” is another favorite track of mine which features Sojourn’s Future Shock Crew and an emcee named BlameOne. This is also another amazing track lyrically and it helped me to realize something that’s kind of a downer. The road we as Christians travel is a road less travel and one that is very difficult. The hook to this song says it all:

“The path we walk, some couldn’t handle

On this road less traveled

It’s a place where dreams get trampled

On this road less traveled

Keep it moving cuz time don’t stand still

On this road less traveled”

In bits and pieces of this verse you can sense the pain and frustration that the crew goes through on this road less traveled. Sojourn made the beat himself and I love it, because it’s dark and has the piano which combines perfectly with the dark lyrics.

Sojourn has been around for a long time and I’ve grown to love every track that he’s on, which could the reason why I over hyped this release for myself. On my first listen I was somewhat disappointed, but I ended listening to the album 6 times over and over again I grew to realize the album is great on both a lyrical and production standpoint. The Hip Hop Is Music label succeeds once again in releasing a talented album from a talented emcee. Fans of Sojourn will love this album and the variety of styles just take the album to another level. Pick it up, now if only we could get Future Shock to release another album….and what about Big Rec?

The Good

HUMAN RESOURCES feat. BIGREC

The variety of sounds and lyrics on the album

Sojourn’s ability to hit home with his lyrics

Production from everywhere Theory, Dert, Ruslan, and Sojay himself

The Bad

For some reason I’m having a problem understanding the topic of Art Verses Commerce….I love the beat though

Some the tracks were just good (Solutionists, Fool’s Gold, Say Something) they were missing the umph that was in the rest of the songs

I probably never see a Human Resources album with just Sojay on beatbox and Rec on the lyrics

Rating: 4/5 (Great, Go Get It)

*- Like I said I over hyped this for myself so I’d actually give it like a 4-4.5

If You Can’t Buy The Album Download These Songs

Human Resources feat. Big Rec

10,000 feat. Theory Hazit and Braille produced by S1

A Road Less Traveled feat. Future Shock and BlameOne

The Craving produced by Dert

Civil War produced by Theory Hazit

~ by Michael Stover on August 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
