Insufficient Funds “Blows of the Adversary”

At the time that I purchased Blows of the Adversary by the group Insufficient Funds it was just an on the spot type thing. I’d never heard of the group or the emcees in it, I just needed something new to listen to and I picked this album. Lucky me that I made the right choice! Insufficient Funds is made up of three emcees Sinai (my personal favorite) TruthBTold and Benjamin D. The crew is also part of the super crew Gallery Drive (fyi I picked up the Ifunds albums before I even know  they were part of Gallery Drive). Let’s check out their debut album Blows of the Adversary.

The one thing I felt right off the bat is that this album had to have cost a lot of money to make. They have well-known producer Illmind on a beat along with DJ LD of Technacali (which is nothing but a blessing to the ears!). It shows on this album and I think it’s sad that a lot of people are sleeping on this project because I like it.

The album starts of with “A Bad Check” which features the cuts by LD and it’s a basic introduction to the group, each emcee killing their verse letting the listener know that they’re in for a treat. After that you notice that these are three guys that are going through a lot in their journey with Christ. “Not the Same” is where you see the emcees let down their guards and let the listener into their lives. The track was produced by Illmind and is all about breaking out of the box that our peers put us in.

A couple tracks later we get “Bragadocious” which features the rest of the Gallery Drive crew and of course they all rip it. “Low Budget to No Budget” is the anthem of a starving artist. Working four jobs just to put out a record, even struggles with the ladies because their not making six figures (I mean really ladies come on now!). People everywhere should be able to listen to this track and get a laugh out of it too.

After “Low Budget to No Budget” the album takes a turn and gets a lot more serious we start to hear the barriers come down even further than they were in the beginning of the album. “déjà vu” is one of my favorite songs on the album and one of my favorite songs of all time. When I first heard this track I was going through a rough time and it was good to hear these guys going through some of the things I was going through. Sinai’s verse is my favorite and has quite a memorable quote in it.

Let my guard down once that’s all it takes
And I’m drowning in the sorrow of my shortcomings and my mistakes

Those lines hit me hard because that’s exactly (I’m talking 110%) how I felt at the time. The beat is nice and each emcee gets personal with it.

“Six Feet Down” is another track that fits that heart on your sleeve type hip hop. It handles the topic of death. Death usually effects us indirectly before it hits us when the Lord calls us home, but these three emcees cover this topic and do so in an amazing way. The beat fits perfectly with the mood of the song and will make you think of your loved ones that we’ve lost in our lifetime.

After that we get “Staring Out The Window” which I think is a song that should get the listener to get up and take action. I don’t know if you guys realized this but the world let alone the country isn’t exactly in the best place right now. I feel at some point we all need to do something about it, not just pray about it, but also take action. And that’s what this song is about, it’s about the problems in this world but also saying that we need to jump in and take action before the world falls apart (if it isn’t already).

This album is great TruthB, Sinai and Benjamin D expose their souls to listener on this album and I consider this album a sleeper. Too many of ya’ll are sleeping on this group (I know I did) I’m praying that the Gallery Drive release got you hip to Ifunds because I believe everyone should be able to relate to this album. It’s got dope beats and reflects that heart on your sleeve type hip hop (which is my personal favorite). Go get Blows of the Adversary, like RIGHT NOW!!!

Good

Heart on Your Sleeve Hip hop

Dope Beats

Guests from Gallery Drive

Bad

People are sleepin’ on it!

Rating: 4/5 (Solid Album! WAKE UP PEOPLE!!!)

If You Can’t Buy The Album Download These Songs

1. déjà vu

2. Six Feet Under

3. Staring Out The Window

4. Not The Same

5. God Bless

~ by Michael Stover on August 15, 2010.

2 Responses to “Insufficient Funds “Blows of the Adversary””

  1. BigSto always man MUCH RESPECT!!!! Many blessings to you and your blog!

  2. I looooove this album so much, have had it since it came out. The guys are awesome dudes too.

Leave a Reply

 
